To register for this class please call: 434-251-1554

Gotta Pass Driver's Education offers small group behind-the-wheel training that is required by the Virginia Department of Motor Vehicles for all new drivers under the age of 18.

Why choose Gotta Pass Drivers Education?

Gotta Pass Drivers Education is a small, locally owned and operated businesses. With over 30 years of highway safety experience, Instructor Billy McCraw promises to provide a positive learning experience for each student. The student will be treated with respect and dignity, Billy will help build confidence and improve on the driving skills needed to become a safer and more knowledgeable driver. Billy stays up to date on driving trends and traffic laws and will provide the most current information available.

Who Is Required to Take Driver Education?

If you are a Virginia resident under 18 years old, before you can get your driver's license, you are required to either:

  • Complete a Virginia-approved driver education program and hold your Virginia learner's permit for at least nine months, or
  • Have completed an out-of-state driver education program and hold your Virginia learner's permit for at least nine months
    • The out-of-state program must provide proof you have completed at least 30 hours of classroom instruction and six hours of in-car instruction.

Note: Your parent, guardian or foster parent must provide their driver's license or state-issued identification card number and sign the driver education completion certificate, which attests to your academic standing and certifies that you have driven at least 45 hours (15 of which occurred after sunset).

If you are a Virginia resident age 18 or older and have never held a license issued by any state, U.S. territory or foreign country, there are two options to get your driver's license.

Option 1: Complete a driver education program and pass the driver's license knowledge exam.

  • This waives the need for a learner's permit. You also won't be required to take the road skills test at DMV, as the test is part of the driver education program.

Option 2: Hold a Virginia learner's permit for at least 60 days and complete a Behind-the-Wheel Checklist before taking the road skills test at DMV.

  • This waives the need for a driver education program. However, a licensed driver must certify they were with you while you practiced, and that you have complied with all requirements for learner's permit holders while operating a motor vehicle.

First Time Drivers

For a driver's license, you must be

  • A resident of the Commonwealth of Virginia and
  • At least 16 years and 3 months of age.

Learner's permit: You must be at least 15 years and 6 months of age.

No exceptions will be made to these age requirements.

If you are under age 18, you must

  • Complete a state-approved driver education program and
  • Provide written consent from one of your parents or your legal guardian, unless you are married or emancipated.

If you are age 18 or older and have never held a driver's license issued by Virginia, another state, a U.S. territory, or foreign country, or cannot show proof that you previously held such a license, you must show proof that:

  • You have passed an approved driver education course or
  • You have held a learner's permit at least 60 days before taking the DMV road skills test.

At any age, as a first time driver, you will be required to provide documents to prove identity, legal presence, Virginia residency, and, if you have one, Social Security number (SSN). Proof of your SSN is not required if you know the number and DMV is able to electronically verify it.

To register for this class please call: 434-251-1554